The Event that Shaped My Life

3 Feb

Studying abroad has not been easy. Although my home might not be as far away as other international students’ home, the experience is the same. Growing up, one gets so used to having people around in the house. Family was a given regardless of whether you choose to interact or make contact with them. There was just something comforting about having people around.

I guess what I missed the most was company. I was not used to dealing with loneliness and it affected me in many ways. During the early days, I would come back to an empty room and watch countless hours of videos just to pass time. The days when I fell sick were the worst because I was on my own. This meant that I had only myself to count upon to do the important stuff, such as paying bills, seeking medical treatment and keeping tabs on my finances. Days stretched on to months and soon enough, I had graduated from polytechnic.

Looking back, the decision to study abroad was definitely a major event in my life. It has made me independent, brave and above all, appreciative. I begin to see my family as a blessing, something I am now eternally grateful for. While it might not have been the happiest phase of my life, there was definitely something to take away from it. For now, I can only embrace the better parts of my life here in NUS and look forward for a brighter future.

(250 words)

edited 11/2/14

5 Responses to “The Event that Shaped My Life”

  1. Shu Kai February 9, 2014 at 1:40 am #

    Hi,

    I enjoyed reading your entry and can relate to some of the downsides you wrote. I would like to point out a couple of errors;

    “… what I miss the most is company”.

    I think that “This meant that I can only count on myself to do …” will be a better alternative to “This meant that I had only myself to count upon to do the important stuff”.

  2. Yoke Ling Yap February 9, 2014 at 6:27 pm #

    Hi Lye Yee,

    It must have been lonely and difficult to study abroad alone! However, I’m sure that you’ll be forge more friendships in ES1102 ^^

    Here are some suggestions for you:
    – I think you may swap the sentences around i.e. “Looking back, the decision to study abroad was definitely a major event in my life. It has made me…” instead of “Looking back, it was definitely a major event in my life. The decision to study abroad…”

    – “home country” instead of just “home” to make it clearer that you are referring to your in your home country instead of where you’re staying in Singapore

    Hope it helps!

    – Yoke Ling

  3. Brad February 11, 2014 at 3:18 am #

    I really like this reflection, Lye Yee. You provide fine detail as you first write about the comforts of home and then document your initial experience away from that environment. We readers can easily imagine your misery. In the end, you explain how such an experience has changed you, strengthening your character.

    What might make this post even more powerful would be for you to do the following:

    1) Use other punctuation rather than a hyphen.
    2) Although my home might not be as far as other international students, the experience is the same. >>>
    Although my home might not be as far away as other international students’ home, the experience is the same.
    3) Growing up, you get… >>> Growing up, one gets….
    4) Looking back, it was definitely a major event in my life. >>> What was the major event?

    Thank you for the fine effort!

    • randomdesignsbyme February 11, 2014 at 3:37 am #

      Thanks 🙂

      I have made the appropriate changes but would like to clarify on the tenses for this sentence:

      “I begin to see my family as a blessing, something I am now eternally grateful for. ”

      Should it be “begin” or “began”? It could be a a continuous process that stretched on until now or that I have already felt this way so it’s in the past?

      I’m a bit confused myself! (laughs) Please let me know!

      • Brad February 12, 2014 at 6:39 am #

        How about “have begun”?

Leave a comment